Henry S. Schleiff

Group President

Travel Channel, Investigation Discovery, Destination America and American Heroes Channel

Download Bio

Henry S. Schleiff is Group President of the Travel Channel, Investigation Discovery (ID), American Heroes Channel and Destination America portfolio, overseeing the development, production, scheduling, research, marketing, communications and online efforts for all five networks. Known for revitalizing and strengthening brands, Schleiff’s portfolio features some of the fastest growing networks in television. Under Schleiff’s leadership, ID has grown from the #50 network to a top 10 television network for women and the #1 network in all of television for audience engagement. In addition, ID has gone from 54 million homes in 2009, when Schleiff joined the network, to more than 86 million homes, today.

Destination America debuted on Memorial Day, 2012 as the only network dedicated to celebrating the people, places and stories of the United States. Unveiled in March, 2014 in more than 60 million homes, American Heroes Channel (formerly known as the Military Channel) is the nation’s only channel devoted to the true stories of American heroism and significant turning points in history.

Until 2009, Schleiff was President and Chief Executive Officer of Crown Media Holdings, Inc., owner and operator of Hallmark Channel and Hallmark Movie Channel, which he joined in October, 2006. Under his leadership, Hallmark Channel became one of the best performing cable channels in the industry. From 1998-2006, Schleiff was the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Court TV Network, which under his stewardship, became one of the fastest growing networks – for distribution, ratings and revenue – in the U.S. Prior to Court TV, Schleiff held executive management roles at Studios USA, Viacom International Inc. and HBO. Schleiff is on the board of many industry organizations, including the International Radio & Television Society Foundation, Inc. (IRTS); The Creative Coalition; The Hamptons International Film Festival; The American Museum of the Moving Image; and the Dean’s Council of the Tisch School of the Arts, New York University.